How Users are Synchronised During the Flow Lifecycle

The actual synchronisation depends on the business logic set up in your SIS or VLE but in general during the synchronisation, WISEflow will check the source data for changes and handle users as described below during each of the flow phases:

Setup

Flow has not been activated

All roles are added or removed from the flow depending on the source data. 

Participation

Flow has been activated

Invigilator, Author, Assessor, Reviewer, Manager:

  • Will be synchronised until the end of the marking period, but cannot be removed

Participants:

  • If a manager has manually deactivated/activated a participant on the flow, the participant will no longer be deactivated/activated from the source data. 

When the flow has been activated, the logic for synchronising participants depends on the flow type:

FLOWoral:

  • Participants will be synchronised until the participation start date or the earliest period

All other flow types:

  • Participants will be synchronised until the end of the general participation period.

Removing a SIS Code from an Active Flow

If a SIS-code is removed from an active flow, the following will happen:

  • The participants will be deactivated
  • No changes will be made to the assessors
  • No changes will be made to the managers
Marking

Invigilator, Author, Assessor, Reviewer, Manager:

  • Will be synchronised until the end of the marking period, but cannot be removed

Participants:

  • Participants are no longer synchronised.
Concluding

No roles are synchronised

If a SIS-code is removed from a flow in the concluding state, the following will happen:

  • The assessments cannot be exported to the external system
  • No changes will be made to submissions, grades, or comments
Re-marking

Participants and assessors are synchronised until the assessment end date.

Archived

Flow has ended. Nothing is synchronised.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more